14.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Gujarat Titans emerge victorious in IPL 2023 opener against CSK

In a high-scoring encounter at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Gujarat Titans managed to chase down Chennai Super Kings’ target of 179 with two balls to spare, thanks to contributions from their middle order.

CSK’s Ruturaj Gaikwad led the charge with a blazing knock of 82 off 50 balls, but the Titans managed to restrict their opponents to a par score of 178/7 in their 20 overs.

Gaikwad’s heroics were in vain as Titans seal victory Gaikwad shouldered the CSK innings and raced to his half-century in just 23 balls, hitting six sixes in the first 10 overs. However, he lost partners at regular intervals and eventually fell for 82. Captain MS Dhoni’s late onslaught took CSK close to 180, but it proved to be not enough.

Gujarat Titans got off to a quick start in their chase, with Wriddhiman Saha scoring 25 off 16 before being dismissed. Sai Sudharshan and Shubman Gill then kept up the run rate, with Gill smashing 92 off 50 balls. However, the Titans lost some momentum after Gill’s dismissal, but Rahul Tewatia and Rashid Khan guided them to victory in the last over.

Alzarri Joseph led the way for the Titans in the death overs, helping them restrict CSK to a par score. Mohammed Shami struck early for the Titans, dismissing Devon Conway, but Gaikwad and Moeen Ali dominated the powerplay to give CSK a good start.

Although CSK continued to lose wickets at regular intervals, Gaikwad’s innings kept them in the hunt. However, the Titans managed to pull things back in the end and seal the victory with two balls to spare.


Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ben Stokes, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Rajvardhan Hangargekar


Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill, Kane Williamson, Hardik Pandya(c), Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Joshua Little, Yash Dayal, Alzarri Joseph

Recent posts